Home India Politics Mulayam’s second daughter-in-law in SP list

Mulayam’s second daughter-in-law in SP list

Lucknow (IANS) : The Samajwadi Party has fielded Aparna Yadav, wife of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav’s step-brother Prateek Yadav, from Lucknow Cantt.

The party on Monday announced names of 37 more candidates for the state assembly elections.

Aparna’s ticket was in serious doubt as she was close to Shivpal Yadav, the estranged uncle of the Chief Minister, now the national president of the party.

The party also changed names of three of its candidates announced earlier.

Announcing the names of the new candidates, state unit chief of the party, Naresh Uttam said Arvind Singh Yadav has been fielded from Chibramau assembly constituency of Kannauj, the parliamentary constituency of Dimple Yadav, wife of Akhilesh Yadav.

Two prominent persons who have been denied tickets include Vijay Mishra and Shadab Fatima, both close to Shivpal Singh Yadav.

The party has fielded Rajesh Kushwaha from Ghazipur in place of Vijay Mishra, a minister in the outgoing government, Mahendra Chauhan has replaced Shadab Fatima from Zahoorabad.

Poonam Sonkar has been named from Chakiya, Devndra Yadav from Jangipur, Babulal Yadav from Mughalsarai and Jagdish Sonkar from Machlishahr.

Technical Education Minister and close aide of the chief minister Abhishek Mishra has been fielded again from Lucknow North while another minister Ravidas Mehrotra fielded from his traditional constituency of Lucknow Central.

The three candidates who have been changed include Abdul Shahnawaz Khan who has replaced Gufran Ahmad from Saharanpur, Meera Bano from Shrinagar has been named in place of Ram Sharan and Surabhi has replaced Amit Kumar Katehria from Kayamganj seat in Farukkhabad.