Congress, others to move no-trust motion against government


New Delhi, July 17: The Congress party on Tuesday announced that it will bring a no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government in the monsoon session of Parliament and added that it is in talks with other opposition parties on the issue.

Support TwoCircles

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP), on the other hand, submitted a notice for no-trust motion. It has asked the Lok Sabha Secretary General to include the no-trust motion in the list of business for Wednesday, the opening day of the session.

Addressing the media, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge said the party would raise several issues for discussion in the session such as those of women’s safety, “misrule” in Jammu and Kashmir, dilution of SC/ST Act, attempts to abolish reservation policy and issues of farmers, besides special status to Andhra Pradesh.

He also criticised the government for allegedly ignoring rules in appointing heads of autonomous institutions, rising petrol and diesel prices, depreciation of rupee and “worsening” foreign policy.

The senior Congress leader also accused the government of indulging in corruption during demonetisation and alleged that there was a scam in Ahmedabad District Co-operative bank accepting over Rs 750 crore — highest among cooperative banks — post the note ban announcement.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Amit Shah is the Director of the Ahmedabad District Co-operative, Kharge underlined.

A number of opposition parties had given notices for no confidence motion during the Budget session, but Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan had rejected all of them.