Jagan Reddy forms a socially inclusive cabinet with 5 deputy Chief Ministers in Andhra Pradesh

YS Jagan Mohan Reddy CM, Andhra Pradesh ( Image: Twitter)

TCN News

For the very first time in India 5 people have been made Deputy Chief Ministers in Andhra Pradesh. Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, son of the former Chief Minister of undivided Andhra Pradesh, late YS Rajashekara Reddy, fondly referred to as YSR, has had a sweeping victory with his party YSR Congress winning 151 of the 175 seats in the assembly elections that were held in April along with the Lok Sabha elections.

Support TwoCircles

Jagan Reddy was sworn in as the CM on 30th of May while his cabinet of 25 ministers have been sworn-in yesterday 8th June in the presence of the Governor.

The 5 deputy CMs in his cabinet are Pamula Pushpa Sreevani a woman Deputy CM ( Tribal Welfare),  Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose (Revenue, Registration and stamps), Alla Kali Krishna Srinivas (Health, Family welfare and Medical education), L Narayana Swamy (Excise, commercial taxes) and Azmath Basha Sheikh( Minority welfare) from the minority community.

Jagan Reddy has maintained a balance by including Scheduled caste, Scheduled Tribe , backward class, minority, women, Kshatriya, Vyashya, Kamma and kapu candidates in his cabinet of ministers.

He has also appointed a Dalit woman as the Home Minister in his cabinet. M Sucharita, who took oath yesterday, is the first woman home minister since Andhra Pradesh was divided to form Telangana in 2014.

He has also included some Ministers who had served with his late father YSR and who, after his death have remained loyal and supported him, in his newly formed cabinet.

Jagan Reddy, 46 years, wants his state to earn the tag of “ best governed state” . Soon after  formally taking up the office of the CM, he first hiked the salary of the ASHA( Accredited social health activist) workers from Rs.3000 to Rs.10,000.

He has plans to keep up the promises made to the people in the party manifesto. Most importantly, Jagan wants to strive for the ‘special category status’ to Andhra Pradesh which the previous Government under Chandra Babu Naidu had not been able to achieve.