Anirudh Bhat takes sole lead in Parsvnath Chess


New Delhi : Anirudh Bhat snapped the winning sequence of R U Anantharam to take the sole lead after the seventh round in the Parsvnath national Under-9 Open Chess Championship here Saturday.

Support TwoCircles

Playing white side of Sicilian Defence, Goan Anirudh beat Anantharam of Karnataka in 37 moves and is now on six and half points.

In another match, top-seed Arjun Bharat of Karnataka signed peace with second seed Hetul Shah of Gujarat after 45 moves. A pack of five players, including overnight leader Anantharam, and local favourite Harshal Shahi is trailing behind the leader with six points.

Meanwhile, in the girls section, the dream run of overnight sole leader C H Meghna of Kerala also came to an end as she lost her seventh round match to top seed and World under-8 Champion Ivana Maria Furtado of Goa in 67 moves.

Meghna and Ivana along with Akhila S of Andhra Pradesh, Shiny Das of Tripura and Sribrinda Rout of Orissa are leading the table with six points. Akhila defeated Tejaswini Sagar of Maharashtra while Shiny Das overcame Shreya Sankalp of Bihar. Sribrinda Rout defeated Saughanthika of Tamil Nadu in the seventh round.

Important Results (Round 7, Boys): Anirudh V Bhat of Goa (6.5) beat R U Anantharam of Karnataka (6), Arjun Bharat of Karnataka (5.5) drew with Hetul Shah of Gujarat (6), Harshal Shahi of Delhi (6) beat Arvind M of Tamil Nadu (5), Abhimanyu Puranik of Maharashtra (5) lost to Aadityaa M of Tamil Nadu (6), Dhonnar Nachiket of Maharashtra (5) lost to Aditya Hiren Vaidya of Gujarat (6), Poras Sanjay Kolgane of Maharashtra lost to Ravindra Teja
Muttineni of Andhra Pradesh (5.5), Jerome Jorge Ebenezer of Tamil Nadu (5.5) beat Harmeet Thukran of Haryana (4.5), Pavit Singh of Delhi (5.5) beat Kumar Gaurav of Bihar (4.5), Abinash Dutta of Assam (5.5) beat Sabhareesh M of Tamil Nadu (4.5), Yashaswat Srivastava of Delhi (5.5) beat Adarsh Srivastava of Uttar Pradesh (4.5).

Important Results (Round 7, Girls) :- Ivana Maria Furtado of Goa (6) beat Meghna C H of Kerala (6), Tejaswini Sagar of Maharashtra (5) lost to Akhila S of Andhrapradesh (6), Shiny Das of Tripura (6) beat Shreya Sankalp of Bihar (5), Saughanthika A S of Tamilnadu (4.5) lost to Sribrinda Rout of Orissa (6), Riya Savant of Goa (5.5) beat Rutuja Bakshi of Maharashtra (4.5), Manjula R of Tamilnadu (5) beat Abirami Ravi of Tamilnadu (4),
Niveditha K of Tamilnadu (5) beat Asmita Das Munsi of West Bengal (4), Chandreyee Hazra of West Bengal (50 beat Preethy P of Pondicherry (4), Gauri Keshav Hadkonkar of Goa (4) lost to Rakshana K of Tamilnadu (5), Pratishtha Prasad of Jharkhand (4) lost to Hilmi Parveen of Kerala (5).