Home India Politics Karnataka municipal polls results at a glance

Karnataka municipal polls results at a glance


Karnataka’s ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was routed in the urban local bodies held March 7, gaining more seats than other parties in only two – – Bangalore urban and Kodagu – of the state’s 30 districts. Here is the performance of different parties at a glance:

– Elections were held for 4,952 seats in 207 urban local bodies spread across the state. Voting did not take place for 24 seats as people boycotted the elections.

– Congress won 1.960 seats, BJP 905 and Janata Dal-Secular also 905.

– Former BJP chief minister B. S. Yeddyurappa’s Karnataka Janata Party came a cropper but seems to have achieved its limited purpose of defeating BJP. It won 274 seats.

– Mining barons, the Reddy brothers, who once lorded over BJP, were pounded to dust as the party floated by their associate and former BJP minister B. Sriramulu failed to take off even in their base Bellary in north Karnataka. The party won just 86 seats out of 1,496 it contested across the state. Of the 246 seats in Bellary, Sriramulu’s party did not win even one seat.

– The Congress bagged majority seats in 22 of the 30 districts. It made strong inroads in BJP bastions like Udupi, Dakshina Kannada and Uttara Kannada in west coast and Chikamagalur and Shimoga central Karnataka.

– JD-S won more seats in south Karnataka districts of Kolar, Tumkur, Hassan and Mandya.

– In north Karnataka district of Belgaum, independents bagged 221 of the 392 seats.