Transfer of officials knee-jerk reaction: AIADMK

Chennai : Tamil Nadu’s ruling party AIADMK has lodged a protest against the large scale transfer of officials ordered by the Election Commission and termed it a knee-jerk reaction.

“We strongly protest the manner in which such large scale transfers have been ordered by the Election Commission of India in an apparent knee-jerk response to motivated petitions and representations from vested interests,” the party said.

Support TwoCircles

“We strongly urge the Election Commission of India to revoke the transfer orders, given that such a short period is left before the date of polling,” the letter added.

The letter was submitted to Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi in Thiruvananthapuram on Monday by AIADMK members of parliament.

According to AIADMK, the transfer of officers, including those not related to the polls, was based solely on the petitions and representations received from the DMK and Congress parties.

“This unprecedented scale of transfers, with barely a fortnight left for the date of poll, is hardly conducive to the smooth conduct of the polls,” AIADMK said.

“Inexplicably, though there have been no complaints regarding arrangements for the conduct of elections in the state, the Director General of Police, who is in overall charge of the entire police force, has been divested of all responsibilities relating to conduct of elections. A separate Director General of Police (Elections) has been posted,” the party said.

The election commission has so far ordered the transfer of nine district collectors, seven superintendents of police, five deputy superintendents of police, and a district revenue officer besides lower level revenue and police officials, said the AIADMK.

“Further, senior police officers in vital positions namely Inspector General of Police (Intelligence), Additional Director General of Police (Law and Order), Commissioner of Police (Greater Chennai) have been transferred with barely a fortnight to go before the date of poll,” the party said.

Tamil Nadu votes on May 16 to elect a new 234-member assembly.