NCHRO asks govt to repeal anti-people laws, frame rules for Human Rights Act 1993

By TCN News,

Hyderabad: The Biannual General Assembly of National Confederation of Human Rights Organisations (NCHRO) was held in Hyderabad here on Sunday. Reny Ayline (National Coordinator, NCHRO) welcomed the delegates gathered from different states. Prof Nagari Babaiya chaired the meeting. Adv. K.P. Mohamed Shareef (General Secretary) presented the biannual report. The discussion in various topics was held followed by the report, in which the delegates actively participated.

Followed by the General Assembly, in the afternoon, the seminar on Development, Displacement and Human Rights was conducted in the same hall. Zahid Ali Khan (Editor, Siasat Daily) inaugurated the seminar. D. Suresh Kumar (Andhra Pradesh Civil Liberties Committee – APCLC), Adv. Karthik Navayan (Human Rights Forum – HRF, AP), Prof. Ramesh Nagargera (People’s Democratic Forum – PDF, Karnataka), Muhammad Arif Ahmed (President, Popular Front of India, AP), Prof. A. Marx (People’s Union for Human Rights – PUHR, Chennai), Adv. Jaya Vindhyala (People’s Union for Civil Liberties – PUCL, AP), Prof. P. Koya (Editor, Thejas Daily, Kerala & General Secretary, NCHRO), Reny Ayline (Secretary, NCHRO) addressed in the seminar.

Zahid Ali Khan,Editor, Siasat Daily

Resolution passed by NCHRO General Assembly called upon the Central and state governments to repeal all anti-people draconian laws such as AFSPA, UAPA, etc that allows the security forces “to trample upon the civil and democratic rights of the people.” The Assembly also asked the Home Ministry to withdraw the establishment of National Counterterrorism Centre (NCTC) which may “become a power center by itself.”

Another resolution asked the Government to frame rules under the Human Rights Act 1993. Though the act came into force in 1994 but successive governments have failed to frame necessary rules for the act to come into practice. “This negligence is a sign of the lackadaisical approach of the government is giving to human rights acts in the country.”

The General Assembly also expressed its solidarity with the people of Koodankulam who have been fighting a losing battle against the nuclear reactor complex which is going to destroy their habitat and deprive them of the traditional employment. They charged that “only an administration with reckless disregard for people’s life and limbs would go for nuclear power generation. We strongly condemn the police atrocities in the area and call upon the Tamilnadu government to immediately withdraw the cases against the 197 people jailed for leading the agitation under the sedition laws.”
Following were elected as the new office bearers and National Executive committee members for next two years (2012 – 2014) by the General Assembly.

Adv Shareef in General Assembly

Newly Elected Office Bearers
1. Prof Nagai BaabayyaBangaluru – Chairperson

2. Dr. John Dayal New Delhi – Vice Chairperson

3. Ad KP MuhammedShareef – Vice Chairperson

4. Prof P Koya – General Secretary

5. Adv. A Mohamed Yusuff Madurai – Secretary

6. RenyAylineThiruvanathpuram –Secretary

7. Prof. Shamsul Islam, Delhi University – Treasurer

National Executive Members
1. Prof. N. Ramesh, Bangaluru

2. Gowri Lankesh, Bangaluru

3. NarendraMohanty, Bubhaneswar

4. P Ahmed Shareef, Calicut

5. Ponniah Chandran, Coimbatore

6. AK Akodia, Jaipur

7. N M Siddik, Kochi

8. Ko. Sugumaran, Puducherry

9. Prof. A Marx, Chennai

10. KuttyRevathi, Chennai

11. SreenivasaRao, Hyderabad

12. Adv.Jagadeesh, Bangalore

13. Adv.Thangasamy,Tirunalveli

14. Adv.Karthik,Hyderabad

15. Mohamed Kakinje, Mangalore

Special Invitees
16. Dr. A. Bashar, Guwahati

17. Mohamed Tanveer, New Delhi

18. Dr. Shakeel Ahmed, Hyderabad

19. D. Suresh Kumar, Hyderabad

20. AshimRoy, Ahmedabad