Martyn to lead Ahmedabad Rockets in ICL


New Delhi : Former Australian Test players Damien Martyn and Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul Haq will lead Ahmedabad Rockets and Lahore Badshahs, the two new teams that will compete in the Indian Cricket League (ICL) T20s Grand Championship, beginning March 9.

Support TwoCircles

The addition of these sides takes the total number of competing teams in the ICL league to eight. Announcing the composition of the teams, former India captain and ICL executive board chairman Kapil Dev said that the make up of the teams would show that they have been strengthened.

“There has been a significant increase in the player base — both domestic and international players — to strengthen the teams in all departments of the game. A thorough thought process has gone in the selection of the players and the objective has been to strengthen the existing teams and not merely carry out the process of star assortment,” he said.

“The ICL still remains firm in its commitment of providing a platform to promising domestic players to play the game at the highest level and with players who have done the same at the international level.”

ICL, which was launched April 3 last year, has conducted two tournaments so far. In the first tournament late last year, overseas players like former West Indies captain Brian Lara and Inzamam, took part, while only domestic players competed in the second tournament recently.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has said that all those who have associated themselves with ICL would not be entitled to any benefits from it.

Lara will again be seen in action as he will be leading Mumbai Champs. The other captains are: Stuart Law (Chennai Superstars), Craig Mcmillan (Kolkata Tigers), Chris Harris (Hydrebad Heroes), Marvan Attapatu (Delhi Giants), Chris Cairns (Chandigarh Lions), Martyn (Ahmedabad Rockets) and Inzamam (Lahore Badshahs).


Mumbai Champs Brian Lara (captain/West Indies), Nathan Astle (New Zealand), Johan Van der Wath (South Africa), Tino Best (West Indies), Michael Kasper (Australia), Anupam Sanklecha (India), Avinash Yadav (India), Dheeraj Jadhav (India), Kiran Powar (India), Nikhil Mandale (India), Pushkaraj Joshi (India), Ranjeet Khirid (India), Robbin Morris (India), Shreyas Khanolkar (India), Shridhar Iyer (India), Subhojit Paul (India), Suyash Burkul (India), Raviraj Patil (India)

Support staff: Sandeep Patil (coach/India); Paul Watson (Strength and conditioning coach); Danny Redrup (physiotherapist); Charlie Price (massage therapist)

Kolkata Tigers: Craig Mc Millan (captain/New Zealand); Lance Klusener (South Africa); Upul Chandana (Sri Lanka); Nantie Hayward (South Africa); Andre Adams (New Zealand); Abhishek Jhunjhunwala (India); Abu Nechim (India); Deep Dasgupta (India); Mihir Diwakar (India); Pritam Das (India); Rajiv Kumar (India); Rohan Gavaskar (India); Sayed Akhlakh Ahmed (India); Shiv Sagar Singh (India); Subhomoy Das (India); Sujay Tarafdar (India)

Support staff: Darly Cullinan (coach/South Africa); Shane Duff (strength and conditioning coach); Shyam Sander (physiotherapist); Heidi Hill (massage therapist)

Ahmedabad Rockets: Damien Martyn (captain/Australia), Murray Goodwin (Zimbabwe), Heath Streak (Zimbabwe), Wavell Hinds (West Indies), Jason Gillespie (Australia), Abhishek Tamrakar (India), Anshu Jain (India), Baburao Yadav (India), P. Bhima Rao (India), Parviz Aziz (India), Rakesh Patel (India), Pallav Vora (India), Reetinder Sodhi (India), Sachin Dholpure (India), Sanjeev Martin (India), Sriram Sridharan (India), Sumit Kalia (India)

Support staff: John Emburey (coach/England), Andrew Gray (strength and conditioning coach), Angela Cadogan (physiotherapist), Carl Jacobs (massage therapist)

Chennai Superstars: Stuart Law (captain/Australia), Ian Harvey (Australia), Russel Arnold (Sri Lanka), Shabbir Ahmed (Pakistan), Adam Parore (New Zealand), Michael Bevan (Australia), G. Vignesh (India), Hemang Badani (India), Hemant Kumar (India), J. Hariesh (India), P. Vivek (India), R. Jesuraj (India), R. Sathish (India), Syed Mohammed (India), Tamil Kumaran (India), Thiru Kumaran (India), V. Devendran (India), Vasanth Saravanan (India)

Support staff: Michael Bevan (coach/Australia), Corey Bocking (strength and conditioning coach), Anthony Smith (physiotherapist), Julia Russell (massage therapist)

Hyderabad Heroes: Chris Harris (captain/New Zealand), Nicky Boje (South Africa), Justin Kemp (South Africa), Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan), Jimmy Maher (Australia), Alfred Absolom (India), Ambati Rayudu (India), Anirudh Singh (India), Ibrahim Khaleel (India), Indra Shekar Reddy (India), P. Kaushik Reddy (India), P.S. Niranjan (India), Shashank Nag (India), Stuart Binny (India), Syed Shahabuddin (India), Vinay Kumar (India), Zakaria Zuffri (India)

Support staff: Steve Rixon (coach/Australia), Michael Haddin (strength and conditioning coach), John Porter (physiotherapist), Emma Vassallo (massage therapist)

Delhi Giants: Marvan Atapattu (captain/Sri Lanka), Avishka Gunawardene (Sri Lanka), Nic Pothas (England), Dale Benkenstein (South Africa), Shane Bond (New Zealand), Abbas Ali (India), Abhinav Bali (India), Abhishek Sharma (India), Abid Nabi (India), Ali Murtaza (India), Dhruv Mahajan (India), Dishant Yagnik (India), J.P. Yadav (India), Mohnish Mishra (India), Raghav Sachdev (India), Shalabh Srivastav (India), T. Sudhindra (India), Ali Hameed Zaidi (India)

Support staff: Madanlal Sharma (coach/India), Suhas Pawar (strength and conditioning coach), John Pano (physiotherapist), Grant Jacobs (massage therapist)

Lahore Badshahs: Inzamam ul Haq (captain/Pakistan), Azhar Mahmood (Pakistan), Taufeeq Umer (Pakistan), Imran Farhat (Pakistan), Mushtaq Ahmed (Pakistan), Saqlain Mushtaq (Pakistan), Rana Naveedul Hasan (Pakistan), Shahid Nazir (Pakistan), Hasan Reza (Pakistan), Naveed Latif (Pakistan), Hummayun Farhat (Pakistan), Imran Nazir (Pakistan), Mohammed Sami (Pakistan), Arshad Khan (Pakistan), Riaz Afridi (Pakistan)

Support staff: Moin Khan (Pakistan), Jason Wheadon (strength and conditioning coach), Steven Partidge (physiotherapist), Abdul Rauf (massage therapist)

Chandigarh Lions: Chris Cairns (captain/New Zealand), Mathew Elliot (Australia), Lou Vincent (New Zealand), Andrew Hall (South Africa), Daryl Tuffey (New Zealand), Amit Uniyal (India), Bipul Sharma (India), Chetan Sharma (India), Dinesh Mongia (India), Gaurav Gupta (India), Harpreet Singh (India), Ishan Malhotra (India), Karanveer Singh (India), Love Ablish (India), Manish Sharma (India), Rajesh Sharma (India), Sarabjeet Singh (India), T.P. Singh (India)

Support staff: Balvinder Sandhu (India), Jock Campbell (strength and conditioning coach), Tim Brennan (physiotherapist), Sunni Hughes (massage therapist)