Gavaskar, Kapil, Bedi in cricket’s Hall of Fame


Sydney : Former India captains Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev and Bishan Singh Bedi were among the 55 cricketing greats who were inducted in the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) newly-formed Hall of Fame here Friday.

Support TwoCircles

The honour is a joint venture with the Federation of International Cricketers’ Associations (FICA) as part of the ICC’s centenary year celebrations.

ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said the Hall of Fame would provide the chance for the game to recognise its greatest achievers.

“It will provide a means of recognising the historical contribution of past players, officials and even institutions in making cricket what it is today, a great sport with a great spirit,” Lorgat said.

The initial intake of inductees are the 55 players named in the FICA Hall of Fame, which ran between 1999 and 2003, and their career statistics and biographies can be found at the new ICC centenary website, also launched Saturday (

This will be supplemented by a select group of inductions each year, starting in 2009 when the newcomers will be announced during the LG ICC Awards ceremony.

The initial inductees (or, in the case of those who have passed away, their relatives) will be presented with a commemorative ICC Cricket Hall of Fame cap at an appropriate stage during the ICC centenary year.

And those living members will also have the chance to help choose new inductees, part of an inclusive selection process.

“We have studied numerous halls of fame in other sports to see what works and what doesn’t and how best we can achieve our goal, to recognise the game’s greatest achievers,” Lorgat said.

“We want to ensure that as many of the game’s stakeholders as possible, including current ICC Cricket Hall of Famers and members of the public, get the chance to have their say in the process of choosing the game’s true legends,” he added.

FICA chief executive Tim May said he was delighted that FICA and the ICC have agreed to launch a fresh Hall of Fame.

“FICA believes it is important to honour the outstanding contributions many individuals have made to the game. We are delighted to join with the ICC in this great venture,” he said.

Former Australia wicket-keeper Rodney Marsh was the first to receive a commemorative cap from ICC president David Morgan as an inductee to the Hall Of Fame.

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame – initial inductees (55):

Sydney Barnes, Bishan Singh Bedi, Alec Bedser, Richie Benaud, Allan Border, Ian Botham, Geoffrey Boycott, Donald Bradman, Greg Chappell, Ian Chappell, Denis Compton, Colin Cowdrey, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Lance Gibbs, Graham Gooch, David Gower, W.G. Grace, Tom Graveney, Gordon Greenidge, Richard Hadlee, Walter Hammond, Neil Harvey, Ron Headley, Jack Hobbs, Michael Holding, Leonard Hutton, Rohan Kanhai, Imran Khan, Alan Knott, Jim Laker, Harold Larwood, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Clive Lloyd, Hanif Mohammad, Rodney Marsh, Malcolm Marshall, Peter May, Javed Miandad, Keith Miller, Bill O’Reilly, Graeme Pollock, Wilfred Rhodes, Barry Richards, Vivian Richards, Andy Roberts, Garfield Sobers, Brian Statham, Fred Trueman, Derek Underwood, Clyde Walcott, Everton Weekes, Frank Woolley, Frank Worrell.