Jamia confers doctorate on Dalai Lama at its annual convocation

By TCN News,

New Delhi: The Jamia Millia Islamia held its Annual Convocation today in the Lawns of Dr. M.A. Ansari Auditorium of the university wherein the university conferred the Degree of Doctor of Letters (Honoris Causa) on Tenzin Gyatso, the fourteenth Dalai Lama of Tibet.

Support TwoCircles

The Citation presented on the occasion to the Dalai Lama stated that “Jamia Millia Islamia honours His Holiness the fourteenth Dalai Lama of Tibet, one of the most respected figures and teachers of our times, who stands for rationality, humanism, non-violence, peace and universal benevolence.”

On receiving the degree, the Dalai Lama congratulated the students and said that he has committed his life to spreading the message about two principles: one of harmony and peace and the other of developing human values.

“In keeping with the secular traditions of Jamia, we have chosen to honour a noble soul” said Mr. Kapil Sibal, Union Minister of Human Resource Development, who was the Chief Guest of the occasion.

“Jamia is the crème de la crème of our Central Universities. The Distinctive spirit that guides the education at Jamia, I believe, was best captured by Dr. Zakir Husain as the fusion of “quami tahzeeb and the insaani tahzeeb” he added.

Mr. Najeeb Jung, Vice Chancellor, Jamia Millia Islamia presided over the convocation. Hailing the students, the Vice Chancellor in his Address said, “I call upon all students here to understand the gravity of this moment. It is a moment that they step out in the World blessed by true Holiness, by an individual who embodies the best in humanism within the modern mind.”

In the Annual Convocation 2010, a total of 3529 Degrees/Diplomas were awarded to students who have successfully completed post-graduation, graduation, and diploma from different Faculties/Departments/Centres of the university in the academic session 2008-09.

Besides, the University handed out 147 Gold Medals to the toppers of different courses and also awarded 127 Ph.D. degrees to research scholars.