Sangeet Natak Akademi honour for S.K. Saxena


New Delhi : Eminent scholar and professor of aesthetics S.K. Saxena will be conferred the Sangeet Natak Akademi Ratna for the year 2007 for his sustained work and outstanding contribution to the promotion of Indian art.

Support TwoCircles

The decision to confer him with the Akademi’s highest honour or fellowship was taken at the general council of the institute, which is the national academy of music, dance and drama, at its meeting on Dec 18. The announcement was made Thursday.

The fellowship is restricted to 30 living personalities at any given point of time.

Apart from Saxena, the Akademi has also selected 33 eminent persons for the Sangeet Natak Akademi Puraskar for the year 2007.

While in the field of music, eight eminent artists, including Vidyadhar Vyas and Govardhan Mishra (Hindustani Vocal Music), Nandan Mehta, (Tabla), Ramoo Prasad Shastri (Violin), and B. Krishnamoorthy, (Carnatic Vocal Music) were selected, artistes Sucheta Bhide Chapekar (Bharatanayam), Geetanjali Lal (Kathak) and Sadanam Krishnan Kutty (Kathakali) will be recognised for their contribution to dance.

For their work in theatre, the Akademi selected eight eminent persons, including Reoti Saran Sharma, Lalthangfala Sailo and Yumnam Rajendra Singh (playwriting) N.C. Thakur and Harimadhab Mukherjee (direction) and Ramesh Mehta (acting).

The Akademi also selected nine artistes for their contributions and sustained work to promote traditional, folk, tribal music, dance, theatre and puppetry.

The two honours have been conferred on artistes since 1952 and while the Akademi Ratna carries a purse of Rs.100,000, the Akademi Puraskar carries Rs.50,000.