Dhoni ranked eighth in one-day rankings


Dubai : Mahendra Singh Dhoni is ranked eighth while England's Kevin Pietersen is still the top batsman in the latest one-day international (ODI) rankings released by the International Cricket Council (ICC) here Thursday.

Support TwoCircles

Pietersen with 827 rating points is way ahead of Australian duo of Ricky Ponting (799) and Mike Hussey (766) in the second and third place respectively. Sri Lanka's veteran opener Sanath Jayasuriya is fourth with 763 points.

Dhoni is the top ranked Indian in the batsmen's rankings.

India captain Rahul Dravid is joint 15th (with Herschelle Gibbs of South Africa) and Yuvraj Singh in 20th.

Among the bowlers, South African Shaun Pollock is still the top ranked bowler with 897 points while Nathan Bracken is second with 794 points. One look at the bowlers' rankings suggests any optimism Bangladesh may be feeling is not misplaced. Spinner Abdul Razzaq is the highest-placed Bangladesh player lying ninth in the list.

Below him are veteran spinner Mohammad Rafique and seamer Mashrafe-bin-Mortaza, who share 17th spot, while India have just two bowlers inside that top 20 – spinner Harbhajan Singh (13th) and medium pacer Ajit Agarkar in joint 15th position (with England's Andrew Flintoff).


1. Kevin Pietersen (England) 827 rating points
2. Ricky Ponting (Australia) 799
3. Mike Hussey (Australia) 766
4. Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) 763
5. Matthew Hayden (Australia) 746 and Ramnaresh Sarwan (West Indies) 746
7. Graeme Smith (South Africa) 740
8. Mahendra Dhoni (India) 739
9. Adam Gilchrist (Australia) 729
10. Michael Clarke (Australia) 728


1. Shaun Pollock (South Africa) 897
2. Nathan Bracken (Australia) 794
3. Shane Bond (New Zealand) 790
4. Chaminda Vaas (Sri Lanka) 764
5. Muttiah Muralidaran (Sri Lanka) 752
6. Daniel Vettori (New Zealand) 697
7. Makhaya Ntini (South Africa) 694
8. Brett Lee (Australia) 686
9. Abdur Razzaq (Bangladesh) 685
10. Andre Nel (South Africa) 662


1. Shaun Pollock (South Africa) 459
2. Jacques Kallis (South Africa) 396
3. Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka) 388
4. Chris Gayle (West Indies) 381
5. Andrew Flintoff (England) 373