Seventh successive win at Kotla for India, more landmarks for Tendulkar

By Rajesh Kumar, IANS

New Delhi : India defeated Pakistan by six wickets to achieve their seventh successive win at the Feroze Shah Kotla Monday. The win that gave India a 1-0 lead in the three Test match series extended India’s streak of victories, which dates back to March 13, 1993.

Support TwoCircles

Sachin Tendulkar also achieved a string of landmarks. He scored his 46th half-century, which was also his sixth against Pakistan. He has now been on the winning side 45 times now – the most by an Indian player.

Tendulkar has also extended his record for most runs by an Indian for a winning cause – 3793 in 71 innings at an average of 64.28, including 13 centuries and 14 fifties.

The other statistical highlights of the Test match are:

# India’s latest win is their 10th in 29 Tests at Feroze Shah Kotla – second only to the 11 victories at Chepauk, Chennai.

# Feroze Shah Kotla is the only ground in the world where India have recorded seven Test victories in succession.

# India’s triumph Monday is their third in five Tests against Pakistan at Feroze Shah Kotla.

# India have won seven, lost five and drawn 19 out of 31 played against Pakistan in India.

# Overall, India have won nine out of 57 Test matches played against Pakistan (Lost 12 and Drawn 36).

India’s Results Summary at Feroze Shah Kotla:

Country Played Won Lost Drawn Winning %

India 29 10 6 13 34.48
England 7 3 – 4 42.86
West Indies 6 2 – 4 33.33
Australia 5 1 2 2 20.00
Pakistan 5 – 3 2 0.00
Zimbabwe 3 – 3 – 0.00
New Zealand 2 – 1 1 0.00
Sri Lanka 1 – 1 – 0.00

Total: 29 16 16 13 55.17

# Shoaib Akhtar (4/58), claimed four wickets for the third time in his career in an innings against India. In the 1998-99 Kolkata Test, he had figures of 4/47 and 4/71 in the first and second innings respectively.

# Anil Kumble has been adjudged the Man of the Match for the tenth time – the second time against Pakistan. Kumble has now equalled Tendulkar’s Indian record for most Man of the Match awards.