Victory celebrations by Congress in Mizoram, MNF routed


Aizawl : Victory celebrations by the Congress erupted in Mizoram Monday, with the opposition party all set to form the next government and the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) literally routed as votes cast to elect the 40-member state legislature were counted.

Support TwoCircles

According to latest trends and results available, the Congress won 18 seats and was leading in four seats, while the MNF and the other major regional conglomeration United Democratic Alliance (UDA) failed to make an impact in the vote held Tuesday.

The MNF was leading by a slender majority in just three seats when reports last came in. In a major upset, Chief Minister Zoramthanga and leader of the MNF lost the North Champai seat to his Congress rival.

“This is a verdict for change and a big snub to the 10-year-old misrule and corruption of the MNF government,” Lalthanhawla, the Congress chief ministerial candidate, told IANS.

“We are committed to providing a stable government with our focus on development and well being of the people,” he added.

Lalthanhawla, a former three-time chief minister, won both the seats he contested. He beat F. Lalthanzuala of the MNF by 96 votes to bag the South Tipui seat and got the Serchhip assembly seat by 952 votes.

P.C. Lalthanliana of the Congress won the Lunglei North seat, defeating his nearest MNF rival by 705 votes, while Congress candidate R.L. Pianmawia won the Tuivawl seat. He defeated his MNF rival by 473 votes.

Congress candidate R. Lalzirliana won the Tawi seat defeating his nearest MNF candidate by 1,211 votes. In the Turial seat, Hminhdailova Khiangte of the Congress party defeated his MNF rival by 1,022 votes.

Congress candidate H. Liansailova won the Aizawl North seat, defeating his MNF rival by 266 votes. Nihar Kanti Chakma of the Congress party defeated his nearest MNF rival in the West Tuipui seat by 1,540 votes, while S. Hiato of the same party won the Saiha seat, beating his MNF rival. Congress candidate L. Ralte won the Hachhek seat, defeating his MNF rival.

The MNF has been in power in Mizoram for the last 10 years. In the last assembly elections held in 2003, it secured 21 seats, while the Congress bagged 12 and seven went to other smaller parties.