Bangladesh win team title at LG All India Amateur golf


Chandigarh : Jamal Mollah fired a two-under par 70 to lead Bangladesh `A’ to victory in the team event of the 107th LG All India Amateur Golf Championship at the Chandigarh Golf Club here Tuesday.

Support TwoCircles

At the end of the two-day stroke-play championship that was held to decide the team championship and also the seedings for the match-play championship that begins Wednesday, the duo of Jamal and Shahid aggregated a two-day total of 289 to claim the honours for their team.

Chinese Taipei `B’ emerged second with a total of 300 with Chien Yao Hun and Hao Sheng Hsu, superseding their `A’ side comprising of Chi-Hsien Hsieh and Tao Huang who finished third with 306. Sri Lanka `A’ finished fourth with 307 while Malaysia `B’ finished fifth at 309. Hosts India finished sixth at 310.

Jamal is now top seeded after he finished as the winner in the individual stroke-play qualifying round with a 36-hole total of level par 144. Overnight leader Shahid finished second with 145 while Rudresh Sharma and Rahul Bakshi finished joint-third with a total of 146.

Jamal, the 19-year-old from Dhaka began on a sedate note when he made a bogey on the opening hole. However he quickly rectified it with a birdie on the par-5 second. Playing some steady golf, he parred his way till the eighth while saving a stroke on the ninth to take the turn at 1-under. However he began his back nine in a similar fashion making a bogey on the 11th. He recovered superbly making birdies on the 13th and 15th to finish at two-under.

Rudresh meanwhile played some flawless golf on his front nine where he made three birdies – second, third and eighth to be three-under after the first nine. However he went astray with his drive on the par-4 10th and paid the penalty in the form of a bogey. He was back on road with birdies on the 13th and 15th to be four-under after 17 and erred on his second shot on the finishing hole where he made a double bogey.

Team scores (after 36 holes): 289 Bangladesh `A’ (Jamal Mollah, Shahid); 300 Chinese Taipei `B’ (Chien Yao Hun, Hao Sheng Hsu); 306 Chinese Taipei `A’ (Chi-Hsien Hsieh, Tao Huang); 307 Sri Lanka `A’ (K Parabaaran, Mithun Perera); 309 Malaysia `B’ (Edmund Jonathan, Mohd. Arie); 310 India `A’ (Abhishek Jha, Manav Das).

Individual stroke-play scores: 144 Jamal H Mollah (Bangladesh) (74, 70); 145 Shahid (Bangladesh) (71, 74); 146 Rudresh Sharma (76, 70), Rahul Bakshi (74, 72); 147 Ajeetesh Sandhu (77, 70); 148 Vikram Rana (75, 73); 149 Abhijit Chadha (78, 71); 149 Pawan Kumar (74, 75); 150 Amanjyot Singh (77, 73), Chien Yao Hung (TPE) (76, 74), Chandradasa (Sri Lanka) (75, 75), Tarun Ghogale (74, 76), Hao Sheng Hsu (TPE) (74, 76); 151 Abhishek Jha (74, 77); 152 Mithun Perera (Sri Lanka) (76, 76)