Opposition take stock of cross-voting, abstentions; BJD MP expelled


New Delhi : Knives were out in the Opposition camp to deal with MPs who cross-voted and abstained that helped the UPA government to win the trust vote with the BJD in Orissa state setting the ball rolling expelling one MP.

Support TwoCircles

Harihar Swain was expelled by Orissa’s Biju Janata Dal(BJD), a constituent of NDA, for violating the party whip by voting in favour of the confidence motion.

BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said in Bhbaneshwar that proceeedings will be started to disqualify Swain from Lok Sabha (Lower House) membership. Swain is a known detractor of Patnaik. When contacted, Swain said he voted according to his ‘inner voice’.

The TDP would initiate disciplinary action against two of its MPs – D K Adikeshavulu Naidu and M Jagannadham – who had defied the party and voted in favour of the UPA Government, party leader K Yerran Naidu said in Hyderabad.

Shiromani Akali Dal(SAD) is seeking an explanation from its lawmaker who abstained.

Akali Dal General Secretary Daljit Singh Cheema said the party has served a notice seeking an explanation from its MP Sukhdev Singh Libra who abstained from voting.

Fifteen MPs from the opposition including five from the BJP voted for the government while another nine MPs including four from the saffron party either abstained or absented.

Besides five MPs from BJP and 2 MPs each from TDP and MDMK, one MP each from BJD, JD-S,JD-U, TRS, NPF and NLP voted for the government. The government got 275 votes against opposition tally of 256. Nine MPs abstained.