IGNOU sets up more evaluation centres to hasten results


New Delhi: Over three million students across India will get their exam results faster and more conveniently as the Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) Sunday created six zones to decentralise the evaluation of answer scripts.

Support TwoCircles

“IGNOU today (Sunday) decentralised the evaluation of answer scripts at five more zonal evaluation centers at Chennai, Patna, Pune, Lucknow and Guwahati in addition to Delhi,” university Vice Chancellor V.N. Rajasekharan Pillai said.

It was earlier centralised at IGNOU headquarters at New Delhi, since the inception of the university in 1985.

IGNOU currently has more than three million students.

Consequent to decentralisation, revaluation of answer script, photocopies of answer scripts and early declaration of results of term end examinations shall be handled at the respective evaluation centers.

“The application form for re-evaluation of answer script can be submitted by the student to the respective evaluation centres under whose jurisdiction the examination centres fall within 30 days from the declaration of the result,” a varsity spokesman said.

The evaluation centre at Delhi shall have jurisdiction within Delhi and all examination centres of Faridabad, Gurgaon, Noida and Ghaziabad. The Chennai centre shall have jurisdiction of all examination centres within Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu (area under Madurai Regional Centre) and Maharastra (area under Pune RC), and Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

The Patna centre will regulate examinations within Orissa, West Bengal, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, and parts of Bihar. The evaluation centre at Lucknow shall have say over Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh, Haryana and Assam as well as parts of Uttar Pradesh.

The university has divided Uttar Pradesh under the two regional centres – one comprising Varanasi and Aligarh regional centres and other the Lucknow regional centre. While Lucknow will take care of Varanasi and Aligarh centres, the Patna zone will manage the Lucknow regional centre.

Similarly, the Pune centre shall have jurisdiction of all examination centres within Gujrat, Madhya Pradesh, Mumbai, Maharashtra (area under Mumbai and Nagpur regional centres), Rajasthan and Goa. The evaluation centre at Guwahati shall have jurisdiction of all examination centres within Tripura, Nagaland, Mizoram, Sikkim, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh and Meghalaya.