Murray wins Wimbledon, ends 77-year British wait

    By IANS,

    London: Andy Murray finally ended a 77-year wait, becoming the first Briton to win the men’s singles title at Wimbledon since 1936 as he defeated World No.1 Novak Djokovic in straight sets here Sunday.

    Support TwoCircles

    Fred Perry was the last British male champion to win the singles title in 1936 and the second seeded Murray emulated Perry at the All England Club Sunday. Cheered by the home crowd, Murray won 6-4, 7-5, 6-4 in three hours and nine minutes.

    Though top seed Djokovic of Serbia broke Murray once each in the first two sets, the Scot broke the Serbian’s serve twice each in both the sets.

    In the third set, services were broken twice by both the players and while the set was equal at 4-all, the local boy broke the 2011 champion to go 5-4 up.

    In the final game of the match, Murray won three straight points to earn three championship points which were blown away by the World No.1 to level the game and then take advantage.

    However, Murray reached his fourth championship point and this time came out victorious on the lone grass court major.

    Murray had also won the 2012 Olympic gold here at the All England Club after losing the Wimbledon title last year to Swiss Roger Federer.