Srinivasan is ICC’s first chairman

Melbourne: Indian cricket board chief Narayanaswami Srinivasan, who has been suspended by India’s Supreme Court after being named in the IPL spot-fixing investigation, has been appointed the new chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Thursday.

His appointment was confirmed on the last day of the two-day ICC annual conference here and he described it as an honour.

Support TwoCircles

Bangladesh’s Mustafa Kamal was also made the 11th president of the ICC.

Srinivasan is among 13 people named in the report of a court-conducted inquiry into spot-fixing in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Justice Mukul Mudgal headed tghe committee that inquired into corrupt practices in the sixth edition of the IPL last year.

Srinivasan has been suspended by the Indian Supreme Court as president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and senior board vice-president Shivlal Yadav is looking after day-to-day cricket administration while India’s legendary batsman Sunil Gavaskar was made in charge of the IPL.

Under constitutional changes approved earlier this year, Cricket Australia chairman Wally Edwards will head the new ICC executive committee while England’s Giles Clarke will chair the finance and commercial affairs committee.