Tahira Khan and Khatija Shaikh among winners of National Awards for Nurses

By TwoCircles.net newsdesk

New Delhi: The birthday of Florence Nightingale is marked as "International Nurses Day." On this occasion National Award for Nurses were given in New Delhi today by the President Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam. Tahira Khan of Andhra Pradesh and Khatijja Shaikh of Dadra & Nagar Haveli are two of the nurses recognized for their meritorious services.Â

Support TwoCircles

There is one nurse to every 2250 Indians. Compare this to one nurse for 150 to 220 people in developed countries. Even developing countries like Indonesia, Kenya, Sri Lanka and Thailand have a better nurse population ratio than us. Needless to say, Indian nurses are overworked and unappreciated. 

Government of India has revived National Awards for Nurses given as the highest recognition for the meritorious services to the nurses and nursing profession in the country. Each award carries a Certificate of Merit and Cash award of Rs.50, 000/-.

President Kalam addressing on the occassion of International Nurses Day.

Today, on the occasion of birthday of Florence Nightingale, President of India presented the Awards to17 Awardees selected by the Central Selection Committee. This day is celebrated all over the world as "International Nurses Day." The following nursing professionals received the Award:

S.No. State/Union Territory Name Category
1 Andhra Pradesh Ms Tahira Hashim Ali Khan Nurse
2 Arunachal Pradesh Ms C.S.Tada Nurse
3 Chandigarh Ms Madhupuri Nurse
4 Gujarat Ms Udaising Damor Nurse
5 Kerala Ms Salomi George Nurse
6 Maharashtra Ms Bhosale Vijaya Baburao Nurse
7 New Delhi (Military Nursing Services) Maj.Gen. (Ms) Shashi Bala Nurse
8 New Delhi Dr.(Mrs) Margaret Dean Nurse
9 Pondicherry Ms Anna Siromani Rajan Babu Nurse
10 Tamil Nadu Ms Chellamal Mariappan Nurse
11 Uttar Pradesh Ms Hardeep Kaur Nurse
12 UT Dadra & Nagar Haveli Ms Khatija M.Shaikh Nurse
13 West Bengal Ms Reena Bose Nurse
14 Assam Ms Zeawlhuamkin ANM
15 Orissa Ms Subasini Jena ANM
16 Tamil Nadu Ms C.Mahalakshmi ANM
17 Chattisgarh Ms M.Goswami LHV