Churchill defeat Central Railways: Durand cup


New Delhi : The Churchill Brothers of Goa trounced Mumbai’s Central Railways 6-1 and booked a semi-final berth in the 120th Osian’s Durand Cup football tournament here Saturday.

Support TwoCircles

Nigerian Odafe Onyeka Okolic single-handedly demolished the Mumbai team, as he scored five goals (13th, 40th, 54th, 58th, 82nd) while substitute Thangjam Singh struck in the last four minutes to complete the rout.

Kasif Jamal scored the lone consolation goal for Central Railways in the seventh minute of the match.

Central Railways failed to hold on to their lead that they took early on in the match. The Mumbai team earned a penalty in the seventh minute after Govin handled the ball and veteran Jamal was bang on target.

But the lead was short-lived as six minutes later Churchill came back strongly with a strike from the Nigerian. Odafe struck from a free kick to draw the scores.

After taking the lead, the there was stopping the Nigerian player as he stamped his supremacy all over and made a mockery of Central Railway’s defence.

Odafe again broke the opposition defence when he chipped the ball past the railway goalie Raghuvir Khanolkar in the 40th minute. The Nigerian completed his hat trick in the 54th minute when he slammed in from close quarter to make it 3-1 for his team.

Four minutes later, Odafe struck again when he latched on to a through pass from the midfield and shot past the railway defenders to find the net.

Six minutes from time, the Nigerian completed his tally when he kicked in from a cross from the right flank. Two minutes later, Thangjam added another goal to complete the rout.


Churchill Brothers: Vinay Singh (goalkeeper), Robert Lalthlamuan, Gourmangi Singh, Govin, Naoba Singh, Raju D., Eanglias Da’Silva, Chandam Singh, Reisangmi Vashum, Odafe Onyeka Okolic, Mboyo Iyomi

Central Railways: Raghuvir Khanol Kar (goalkeeper), Agnelo Fernandes, Prabash Janardhan, Revelino Fernandes, Nasir Jamal, Safique P., Sumesh K.S., Soccor Velho, Kasif Jamal, Arun E.K., Denis George

Referee: Pratap Singh.