Home Sports Parthiv Patel defies Mumbai attack with a century

Parthiv Patel defies Mumbai attack with a century


Rajkot : Team India discard Parthiv Patel stood tall for Rest of India, scoring an unbeaten century against Mumbai on day two of the Irani Trophy game here Sunday.

Patel opened the Rest innings and was batting on 161 by close of play on the second day of the five-day match, with Bengal middle order batsman Manoj Tiwary keeping him company with a polished 56.

Rest of India had replied with 292 for four by close of play Sunday after Mumbai, choosing to bat first after winning the toss, were bowled for 453.

Patel helped Rest survive the early setbacks as fellow opener Aakas Choptra (0), skipper Mohammad Kaif (17) and Suresh Raina (17) were all back in the pavilion with just 64 on the board.

Subramaniam Badrinath (29) steadied the ship and, along with Patel, took the score to 150 when he was trapped leg before by Iqbal Abdulla.

Monoj Tiwary grabbed the opportunity to show his mettle and stroked his way out of trouble with a polished half-century and was still there at close batting with 56 with the help of six fours and two sixes.

But it was Patel that caught the eye with his commitment and has struck 26 boundaries in his unbeaten 161 to see Rest avoid follow-on.

Earlier, the Mumbai tail carried the score past the 450-mark with some lusty hitting from Abdulla (56 not out), who ran out of partners. After a 51-run stand for the ninth wicket with experienced campaigner Rmaesh Powar (45), Abdulla added another 43 with last man Rajesh Verma (9).

Mumbai (1st innings):
Sahil Kukreja run out (Badrinath) 110
Ajinkya Rahane lbw Bose 52
Wasim Jaffer c Kaif b Bose 8
Amol Muzumdar lbw Ojha 8
Prashant Naik lbw Sharma 12
Abhishek Nayar c Sharma b Ojha 118
Ramesh Powar c Patel b Sharma 45
Ajit Agarkar c Raina b Bose 4
Omkar Gurav c Patel b Sharma 0
Iqbal Abdulla not out 56
Rajesh Verma lbw Mishra 9
Extras (b 2, lb 9, w 3, nb 17) 31
Total (all out in 101.2 overs) 453

Fall of wickets: 1-91 (Rahane, 24.3 overs), 2-109 (Jaffer, 30.1), 3-150 (Muzumdar, 37.1), 4-164 (Naik, 42.3), 5-336 (Kukreja, 73.5), 6-338 (Nayar, 74.6), 7-343 (Agarkar, 75.4), 8-359 (Gurav, 79.5), 9-410 (Powar, 90.3)

Munaf Patel 19.5-0-96-0 (10nb)
Ranadeb Bose 25.1-4-106-3 (2w)
Ishant Sharma 22-7-58-3 (3nb, 1w)
Pragyan Ojha 21-0-114-2
Amit Mishra 8.2-0-48-1 (3nb)
Subramaniam Badrinath 5-0-16-0

Rest of India (1 st innings):
Aakash Chopra c Naik b Verma 0
Prathiv Patel not out 161
Mohammad Kaif lbw Agarkar 18
Suresh Raina b Verma 17
Subramaniam Badrinath lbw Abdulla 29
Manoj Tiwary not out 56
Extras (lb 5 w 4, nb 2) 11
Total (for four wickets in 70 overs) 292

To bat: Ishant Sharma, Munaf Patel, Pragyan Ojha, Amit Mishra, Ranadeb Bose

Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Chopra, 3.5), 2-33 (Kaif, 11.5), 3-64 (Raina, 18.3), 4-150 (Badrinath, 35.5)

Ajit Agarkar 14-2-68-1 (2nb, 1w)
Rajesh Verma 14-2-49-2 (3w)
Abhishek Nayar 12-3-68-0
Ramesh Powar 12-0-68-0
Iqbal Abdulla 17-3-51-1
Ajinkya Rahan 1-0-3-0

Umpires: Krishna Hariharan and S.K. Tarapore
TV umpire: Rajesh Deshpandey
Match referee: M. Nayyar