Pakistan’s Election Commission issues final list of Presidential candidates


Islamabad : Pakistan’s Election Commission Saturday issued a final list of candidates that includes three major contenders for the country’s Presidency, officials said.

Support TwoCircles

Presidential elections will be held on September 6th.

Three main candidates left are: Asif Ali Zardari, the widower of former slain prime minister Benazir Bhutto, Saeed-uz-Zaman Siddiqui, former chief justice of Supreme Court and Mushahid Hussain Syed, Chairman of Foreign Relations Committee in the Senate.

Zardari has been fielded by Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and its allies, Saeed-uz-Zaman Siddiqui by Muslim League-N party of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif and Mushahid by pro-Musharraf’s Pakistan Muslim League-Q.

Faryal Talpur, sister of Mr Zardari, who had field papers as covering candidate, withdrew her papers Saturday.

Roedad Khan, a former bureaucrat, had field papers as covering candidate for Mr Siddiqui also withdrew his papers.

The Election Commission has already accepted the nomination papers of Mr Zardari and Mr Hussain as no one had filed any objection.

Polling will be held on September 6th in the national parliament, the Senate and National Assembly in Islamabad and four provincial assemblies.

There are a total of 1,170 senators, members of national assembly and four provincial assemblies, who will cast vote in the presidential elections.

Senate, the Upper House of the Parlimaent has 100 members, the National Assembly, Lower House, has 342, Punjab assembly 371, Sindh Assembly 168, NWFP assembly 124 and Balochistan assembly 65.