Third constituency was represented by 34 MPs since 1981

By Kawthar Al-Ghanim, KUNA,

Kuwait : The third constituency was represented by 34 members of Parliament (PMs) in the National Assemblies established between 1981 and 2006.

Support TwoCircles

Ahmad Al-Saadoun, a veteran parliamentarian and former speaker of the assembly, had the longest record of being member of the parliament. He was elected seven times to represent the constituency, which includes the seventh, ninth, 10th, 11th, and 14th electoral districts according to the previous 25-district system.

Saleh Al-Fethala and Nasser Al-Sane’ represented the constituency in five legislative terms. Homoud Al-Jabri and Waleed Al-Tabtabaie represented it in four terms, while Jassem Al-Oun, Jasir Al-Rajhi, Mohammad Al-Murshid, Sami Al-Monayes, Waleed Al-Osaimi, and Jamal Al-Omar represented it three times.

Former MPs Ahmad Al-Khateeb, Ahmad Al-Kulaib, Ali Al-Saeed, Faisal Al-Shaye, Aadel Al-Saraawi, and Faisal Ali Al-Meslim represented the constituency two times, whereas it was represented once by Mohammad Al-Adsani, Isa Al-Shaheen, Yousef Al-Ghanim, Nasser Al-Osaimi, Abdulrazzaq Al-Sane’, Faisal Al-Sane’, Nasser Al-Bannai, Abdulaziz Al-Adsani, Ali Abu Hadida, Abdulsalam Al-Osaimi, Bader Al-Jeeaan, Ahmad Al-Duaij, Ahmad Al-Rubie, Bader Al-Farsi, Basel Al-Rashid, and Ali Al-Omair.

The constituency is the first in the terms MPs heading the National Assembly. Mohammad Al-Adsani was the NA Speaker in 1981, while Al-Saadoun was the speaker of the assemblies established in 1985, 1992, and 1996.

However, the constituency had the least number of MPs who were assigned as ministers since 1981. The number was two out of 22 elected ministers from the different constituencies.

In 1992, Jassem Al-Oun from the seventh constituency became Minister of Social Affairs and Labor. In 1994, Ahmad Al-Kulaib from the 10th constituency became minister of that ministry, while Al-Oun was assigned as Communications Minister and Minister of Electricity and Water.

In 1996, Al-Kulaib continued holding his post as Minister of Social Affairs and Labor and in 1998 he became Minister of Justice and Minister of Awqaf and Islamic Affairs.

No MPs from the constituency were assigned as ministers in 1981, 1985, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2006, or 2007.