Delhi Metro gets four new trains


New Delhi : The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) Tuesday added four trains to its world-class fleet of 60 trains to tackle the increasing passenger rush in the capital.

Support TwoCircles

"The four new trains are running on Line 3 (Indraprastha to Dwarka sub-city), which carries the maximum number of commuters," Delhi Metro chief spokesman Anuj Dayal said.

"With this, the frequency of trains during peak hours on Line 3 has been reduced to 4.5 minutes as against 5 minutes earlier and the number of train trips increased from 349 to 362 on this line," Dayal added.

About 525,000 commuters travel on Delhi Metro everyday of which nearly 200,000 travels on Line 3 alone. Delhi Metro currently has a network of over 65 km.

Peak hours on Line 3 are 8 a.m. to 12.30 p.m. and 4.30 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

The peak hours on Line 2 (Central Secretariat – Vishwa Vidyalaya) have been extended from 8 a.m. to 8.30 p.m. instead of 8 a.m.-12.30 p.m. and 4.30 p.m.-8.30 p.m. earlier.

"Trains will run at a frequency of 4 minutes during this time and the number of train trips is increased from 397 to 436 on Line 2," Dayal said.

On Line 1 (Shahdara to Rithala), the frequency of trains will continue to be 4 minutes during peak hours.

Delhi Metro will gradually induct 6 more trains in 2007 and they will be distributed among all three lines. A consortium of ROTEM (Korea) and Mitsubishi Electric (Japan) manufacture these trains at the Bharat Earth Movers Limited (BEML) unit in Bangalore.