Second constituency was represented by 28 MPs since 1981

By Kawthar Al-Ghanim, KUNA,

Kuwait : The second constituency was represented by 28 members of Parliament (PMs) in the National Assemblies established between 1981 and 2006.

Support TwoCircles

The constituency, which includes the second, third, fifth, sixth, and 18th electoral districts according to the previous 25-district system, was mostly represented by Khalaf Dumaithir Al-Enizi, who won the parliamentary elections seven times.

Jassem Al-Kharafi, Meshari Al-Anjiri, and Ahmad Baqer represented the constituency in six legislative terms, while Abdulaziz Al-Mutawa, Abdullah Al-Naibari, Meshari Al-Osaimi, Rashid Al-Hbaida, Abdulwahab Al-Haroun, and Mohammad Al-Saqer represented it three times.

Former MPs Jassem Al-Saqer, Abdulmohsen Jamal, Homoud Al-Roomi, Sayah Abu Shaiba, Hamad Al-Joaan, Ahmad Al-Nassar, Fahad Al-Khanna, Mohammad Al-Mutair, and Ali Al-Rashid represented the constituency two times, whereas it was represented once by Mohammad Al-Rushaid, Khalid bin Isa, Mohammad Bader, Abdulrahman Al-Ghunaim, Jassem Al-Qutami, Abdullah Al-Arada, Duaij Al-Shemmiri, Jamaan Al-Harbash, and Marzouq Al-Ghanim.

Al-Kharafi was the National Assembly speaker for three legislative terms, in the councils of 1999, 2003, and 2006.

Few MPs from the second constituency were assigned as ministers since 1981. The number was three out of 22 elected ministers from the different constituencies.

In 1981, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2006, and 2007, no candidate from the constituency was assigned as minister, but 1985 Al-Kharafi became Minister of Finance and Economy.

In 1992, Al-Anjiri from the sixth constituency became the Minister of Justice and Administrative Affair.

Baqer, from the fifth constituency, became Minister of Justice and Minister of Awqaf and Islamic Affairs in 2001 and Minister of Justice in 2003, and in 2005 he was also assigned Minister of State for Municipality Affairs.